Custom Search

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

The Iris

Tennessee State flower is the Iris. The Iris was adopted as the state cultivated flower by legislature in 1933. There are several different colors among the Iris. One of the most common Iris is the purple.

The Iris was decided by school children of Tennessee. Others on the list of favorites included the daisy, red clover, rose, water lily, elder bloom, goldenrod, wild rose, sunflower and violet.  Nashville Tennessee became known as the Iris City. 

The Iris is a herbaceous perennial. There are 170 species, including many North American varieties. The Iris family is closely related to the lily and amaryllis families. The Iris can grow tall according to the species. Iris's grow at a good speed and some species grow faster than others. The foliage of the Iris is narrow, with linear leaves with a sheathing base that is parallel veined. The flowers of the Iris may be as few as 1 and as many as 6 Some Iris's are bearded and others have 3 inner flower segments.

this nature flower themed post was shared at
our home tuesday

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments so if you have a minute leave me your thoughts on the above post