Custom Search

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Good Nutrition via Food Pyramid

The goal of good nutrition is for the individual to receive essential vitamin, mineral and nutrient requirements. Individuals living in different areas throughout the world have guides that say what is considered good nutrition. Most importantly are the 4 main food groups consisting of Vegetables and fruits, Grain products (bread) , Dairy and Protein.

The United States has a daily food guide that was set up by United States Department of Agriculture. The daily food guide allows on to have an idea of the food needed each day.

Carbohydrates are found at the bottom of the pyramid. This indicates it is what is needed most. The size of serving that is recommended is very important in other words no "super-size" servings. Limiting sugar and high glycemic carbohydrates such as potatoes, rice and pasta should be limited as well. 

Fruits and vegetables are also a part of the recommended daily diet. Two to four servings of fruits and three to five servings of vegetables are the daily recommended goal. Two to four servings of fruits and three to five servings of vegetables are recommended daily. Among those fruit and vegetables taken in dark green and orange colored veggies should be in your diet. as these are the type that will provide your body with needed nutrients. 

Proteins are higher up on the pyramid and indicates that less of it is needed in a daily diet. Meals such as poultry and fish are rich in protein and should be taken in less than fruits, vegetables and other healthy carbs. Because proteins are responsible for cellular repair it is important to select teh correct proteins rich foods. 

Calcium is responsible for strong bones and teeth. Dairy is one important source of taking calcium in. Women traveling through puberty, pregnancy and menopause should play close attention to taking in correct amount of calcium. Daily intake of Calcium during childhood is important as well. Sources such as milk, cheese, yoghurt and fish such as sardines should be included in daily diet. 

Our diets also demand a bit of fat. Fat helps to absorb needed vitamins and helps one feel full. Fats also help protect against heart disease, improve brain health and against cancer. Omega 3 fatty acids from fish found in salmon, mackerel and albacore tuna Extra virgin oil and flaxseed oil help provide the right types of fat for your diet. 
Following the recommendations of the pyramid will lead you to good nutrition.

retweet post here
shared on facebook here

shared at these facebook group pages
blog support group ---- ct 11/15 

shared at these blog hops, parties and linkups
party in PJs

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments so if you have a minute leave me your thoughts on the above post